Friday, June 13, 2014

100 years ago Ingalls Field hosts State Track event

In 1914, 42 schools sent contestants to Crawfordsville's Wabash College for the State Championships. Shortridge (Indianapolis) sent 18 boys, Manual sent 12, and Wingate entered 15. CHS sent 9 men. On May 16, 1914 the Journal Review stated, "The weather was favorable and track promised much speed." Local lads made the city proud by impressing the crowds.

The IHSAA website lists the Individual State Champions (events no longer contested).

Wisehart (CHS) won the discuss at Ingalls Field with a heave of 105-4.5, Eagleson (CHS) won the Long Jump at 20 1/2, and McAlevy (CHS) earned a win in the 220 Yard Low Hurdles with a 28.3 time (McAlevy also won this event in 1912-1913 in 28 flat).

Earlier, in 1906-1907, Roy Conrad (Darlington) won the Long Jump, and Lester Morrison (Darlington) won the High Jump. In later years, Kennedy (CHS) won the 440 Yard Dash, Patterson (CHS) the 120 Yard High Hurdles, and Mile Relay teams from CHS won in 1912-1913, 1917-1918, and 1918-1919. The 1915 state meet was held at the Federal League Ball Park in Indianapolis on Saturday, May 15, 1915 and continued to be held in Indianapolis after this time.

Top row l to r: Coach Glascock, Remley Williams,
M. Grimes, Manson, Eagleson, Moon
Bottom l to r: Wisehart, G. Grimes, Nicholson,
Jones (captain) and McAlevy

No comments:

Post a Comment