Wednesday, January 22, 2014

State Track Champions at CHS 100 years ago

Earnest Eagleson  won the Broad Jump in the State Track meet, which was held at Wabash College with Indianapolis Washington winning over CHS by 1/8 of a point.  Eagleson also won in 1913 with the Mile Relay Team. George McAlevy won the low hurdles in 1913 and 1914, and Lloyd Wisehart won the discus.  What a successful day = so close to a team title!
Earnest Eagleson, 1914
His jump to win Broad jump was 9 inches
longer than second place.
Standing: Coach  Freeman & Manager Biddle
Sitting: Walter Remley,  George McAlevy,
Captain Lawrence Nicholson,
 Paul Manson, Lloyd Wisehart, Carter Henry,
Herman Wright and Earnest Eagleson

No comments:

Post a Comment